Genevieve Angelique

Love, Books, & More

Book Review: Across the Universe

1 Comment

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Author: Beth Revis

Genre: YA, NA, Science Fiction, Dystopian

In a Snapshot: Amy, a frozen teen on her way to a new planet 300 years into the future, is awakened 50 years too early. With the help of Elder (the boy destined to someday be the ship’s leader), she uncovers a terrible truth about the ship—and the people on board.

Why I picked it up and why I couldn’t put it down:

As always, I was in the mood for a romance, and I could tell this was going to be a love story based on the cover. I was also in the mood for a soft science fiction, so this fit the bill.

I read 2/3 of Across the Universe in audio format, but I finished with a hard copy from my library. I needed to get through the story faster. The pace of the audio book was too slow for my impatient reading ways. And no offense to the actors who voiced the dual perspectives of this book, but I don’t like to hear impersonated girl voices from male actors. The inflection and emotion seems off–especially when you have the female counterpart voice/actress to compare it to.

Who will like this? This book has a similar vibe to The Giver by Lois Lowry or City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau–but with an explicit sexual spin to itReaders who like dual boy/girl perspectives will like this (think Marie Lu’s Legend).

Note: some of the sexual scenes are just gross & dark (for a reason), so this book is for more mature readers.

A Favorite Quote: 

“I never thought about how important the sky was until I didn’t have one.”

Author: genevieveangelique

Writer, Blusher, Star-goggles Wearer.

One thought on “Book Review: Across the Universe

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Shiver | Genevieve Angelique

Leave a Reply

