Genevieve Angelique

Love, Books, & More

Book Review: Shiver

2 Comments

Shiver

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: YA (Paranormal) (Fantasy)

In a Snapshot: Grace has always had an affinity for wolves–especially the yellow-eyed werewolf who saved her as a child and still watches her every winter.

Why I picked it up and why I couldn’t put it down:

This trilogy promised to do for werewolves what Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series did for vampires. As I am a huge Twilight fan (seriously, loved that series), I gave it a try. 

I began reading this book in its audio format. Since the novel is written in dual (boy/girl) point-of-view perspectives, I found myself with the same problem I experienced with Across the Universe–namely, I couldn’t handle listening to Sam’s male voice as he impersonated Grace. So I ended up checking out the book at the library and finishing from there.

I’m glad I did. Stiefvater has a knack at folding paranormal wrinkles into an otherwise normal teenage life. She also surprises the reader with some beautiful lines and lyrical language. I especially liked the poetic songs Sam creates in his human-form mind.

Who will like this? 

Twilight fans. Werewolf fans. Romantics.

A Favorite Passage: 

“I could still smell her on my fur. It clung to me, a memory of another world. I was drunk with it, with the scent of her. I’d got too close. The smell of summer on her skin, the half-recalled cadence of her voice, the sensation of her fingers on my fur. Every bit of me sang with the memory of her closeness. Too close. I couldn’t stay away.” 

Author: genevieveangelique

Writer, Blusher, Star-goggles Wearer.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Shiver

  1. This was my least favorite of her books, but I could never figure out if it was just because two of my kids are named Sam and Grace! I LOVE her Raven Boys series–that’s one of my all-time favorites. She’s such a talented writer.

    • I started listening to RAVEN BOYS on audio and agree. Really strong writing on her part. I’m going to check out the book series now since that’s my favorite way to read. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

