Genevieve Angelique

Love, Books, & More

TBT Book Review: The Giver

1 Comment

Desktop10

Author: Lois Lowry

Genre (& Award): YA, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Newbery Award

In a Snapshot: Jonas lives in a community where all his decisions are made for him. When assigned to The Giver, Jonas receives his mentor’s memories–full of pain and joy.

Why I picked it up and why I couldn’t put it down:

I read this first in high school, then in college. Both times it was an assigned read. And both times, I loved it! So much in fact, I went to a book reading by Ms. Lowry and got a signed copy of this novel!!!! It was my most prized possession–which is why I am still so sad at having lost it when I lent it to a chef while working as a waitress. A librarian at heart, even before getting my masters, I’ve always loved sharing book recommendations with others. And sometimes my recommendations come in the form of my own personal copies. It’s a practice I still do today (and still get burned by from time to time).

Who will like this?

Like the man depicted on the cover, this book is the grandfather of all dystopian books today: The Hunger Games, Insurgent, Maze Runner–they all sort of hail from Lowry’s groundbreaking work. Hence the gold stamp of approval, the Newbery Award. So, naturally, if you’re a dystopian lover, you need to read this book. This is as classic as it gets. And seriously, read the book before you watch the movie. I haven’t yet seen the adaptation, but the book is always better than the movie.

Some Favorite Quotes:

“The worst part of holding the memories is not the pain. It’s the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.”

“It’s the choosing that’s important, isn’t it?”

“We gained control of many things. But we had to let go of others.”

Author: genevieveangelique

Writer, Blusher, Star-goggles Wearer.

One thought on “TBT Book Review: The Giver

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Across the Universe | Genevieve Angelique

Leave a Reply

