Genevieve Angelique

Love, Books, & More

Pitch Wars & Gator Boys. Who Knew.

5 Comments

Today my family celebrated.

First (ahem), new episodes of Gator Boys began. Yep. My family is obsessed. Well everyone in the fam but me. I usually retreat to my hobbit hole and write while my son and daughter watch and parallel play the catch and release of live gators. I *think* my husband only watches.

Gator Boys

Second (flap excited hands), Pitch Wars started! Run by the talented Brenda Drake, author of the anticipated book Thief of Lies, it’s a contest of sorts where aspiring authors hope to 1) be matched with super cool mentors 2) pitch their books to amazing agents & 3) make life-long writerly friends.

Thief-of-lies_high-res22

It’s dreamy and nerve-wracking and completely awesome (like the Lego Movie). Also a lot of work, especially if you get selected. But this is the real deal. Like really. 

Part of the Pitch Wars fun is a blog hop called Pimp My Bio. Which I did last year and am doing again. Because, why not?

So a little about me . . .

I’m totally into kindred spirits. I believe in signs and serendipity and fate. You can argue with me all you want (my husband does), but I’m a sucker for believing the universe places the right people in your life at the right time. And then magic happens.

Serendipity definition

I ultimately chose my top five mentors because of just that. I felt like they could be the onesOk. Fine. I also selected my mentors by genre. I had a YA fantasy, so I chose mentors who explicitly requested YA fantasy. Will I find a mentor (aka kindred spirit) this way? I hope so.

Kindred spirits

I haven’t settled on a preferred writing approach. I was a complete pantser with my first YA novel. My second book, a YA F, was written using a combo approach: Pants it, plot it. Pants it, plot it. You get the idea. It was a five-year beast in the making (also the novel I submitted to Pitch Wars). I plotted my third novel, a YA SF, using The Plot Whisperer by Martha Alderson and The Writer’s Journey by Christopher Vogler. But funny thing. I ended up pantsing most of the first draft.

Pantser vs Plotter

Fantasy, fairy tales, historical, soft science fiction, and contemporary all hold a place in my heart. I generally don’t do cookie cutter mysteries or horror (does anyone else get crazy nightmares from creepy R movies?!?). Some of my favorite books include Beauty by Robin McKinley, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling, Twilight by Stephanie Meyer, The Giver by Lois Lowry, Holes by Lois Sachar, The Notebook by Nicolas Sparks, Redeeming Love by Fracine Rivers, The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran, Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery, Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and pretty much anything written by Lord Bryon, John Keats, and Shakespeare.

pride and prejudice reading

I don’t watch a lot of television, but I love movies. I go nerdy over Star Wars and Lord of the Rings. Pride and Prejudice gets my heart fluttering. So does You’ve Got Mail. I’ve seen them a bazillion times. I have to watch Ghost Busters, What About Bob?, & Groundhog Day once a year because Bill Murray is hilarious. Last of the Mohicans is epic. So is its soundtrack. And when I’m sick, I break down and watch tv. The Office to be specific. I own the first three seasons. That’s all I need. I have to watch Pam and Jim get together. Then I’m good. Their love heals me every time.

Pam and Jim

Many thanks to Ms. Brenda Drake and the mentors who donate an unfathomable amount of time and energy into Pitch Wars. You are changing lives. Probably through serendipity (wink).

And best of luck to all the aspiring authors and future mentees (more bios here!). With or without a stopper of Felix Felicis.

Luck Potion Harry Potter

Author: genevieveangelique

Writer, Blusher, Star-goggles Wearer.

5 thoughts on “Pitch Wars & Gator Boys. Who Knew.

  1. And may the odds be ever in your favor!

  2. You have such great taste! Waving to you from Chicago! (love GB. go Pack go!)

    I was a pantser in the biggest way until I tried plotting for last year’s NaNoWriMo. It was so amazing and I finished it in 18 days! It’s still in revisions, but my Pitch War one was pantsed.

    And I’ve been the one wanting the AT-AT for myself. My son wants Slave 1 (which is even more! ahhh, why must Legos be so pricey?)

  3. Best of luck! I knew I should have included more gifs… 🙂

  4. Congrats on making the cut, fellow mentee!

Leave a Reply

